history

Joseph Pilates Bilder

The origin of Pilates

Pilates was developed at the beginning of the last century by Joseph Hubert Pilates (1883–1967). Born in Germany, he had struggled since childhood with various health problems. He began searching for a healing method and became convinced that movement was the key to better health.

Influences from east and west

In England and Germany Joseph Pilates learned yoga, zen meditation, tai chi, gymnastics, boxing and other sports. He came to the recognition that the mind was responsible for controlling and optimising the way the body functions. He then combined his knowledge of eastern and western movement approaches to create the Pilates Method, which he called “Contrology”. While he was interned in Britain as a German national on the outbreak of the first world war, he successfully trained fellow internees with this method.

First Pilates studio in New York

In 1926 Joseph Pilates immigrated to New York and opened his first Pilates studio. He continued to develop the method up until his death in 1967, helping countless people improve their health and well-being. Today, thanks to its great effectiveness, Pilates is taught all over the world.

English
Deutsch English

Geschichte

Joseph Pilates Bilder

Wie Pilates entwickelt wurde

Das Pilates-Training wurde Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts von Joseph Hubert Pilates (1883–1967) begründet. Er wurde in Deutschland geboren und kämpfte in seiner Kindheit immer wieder mit gesundheitlichen Beschwerden. Irgendwann suchte er selbst nach einer Heilungsmethode und erkannte, dass die Bewegung der Schlüssel zu einer besseren Gesundheit ist.

Einflüsse aus Ost und West

In England und Deutschland trainierte Joseph Pilates Yoga, Zen-Meditation, Tai-Chi, Geräteturnen, Boxen und weitere Sportarten. Seine Erkenntnis: Der Geist kontrolliert und optimiert die Funktionen des Körpers. So entwickelte er aus einer Vereinigung von fernöstlichen und westlichen Sportarten die Pilates-Methode, die er selbst «Contrology» nannte. Als er zu Beginn des Ersten Weltkriegs in Grossbritannien interniert wurde, trainierte er damit erfolgreich seine Mitgefangenen.

Erstes Pilates-Studio in New York

1926 wanderte Joseph Pilates nach New York aus und eröffnete dort sein erstes Pilates-Studio. Bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1967 entwickelte er die Methode stetig weiter und verhalf so unzähligen Menschen zu einem besseren Körperbewusstsein. Heute wird Pilates aufgrund seiner Wirksamkeit auf der ganzen Welt unterrichtet.

Deutsch
English Deutsch